The Bill “Expressing concern and condemnation over the political, economic, social, and humanitarian crisis in Venezuela.” Has Been Passed

The bill Expressing concern and condemnation over the political, economic, social, and humanitarian crisis in Venezuela. has passed the House of Representatives

The bill passed the House on Dec 07, 2017. It was originally sponsored by (R) Representative Ron DeSantis from FL.

Summary: Condemns the decisions by the Venezuelan Supreme Court on March 28, 2017, and March 29, 2017, stripping the opposition legislators of their parliamentary immunity, seizing power from the National Assembly, and nullifying all legislative actions. Recognizes the decision by such court on April 1, 2017, to restore the opposition legislators’ parliamentary immunity and the National Assembly’s legislative powers. Urges the government of Venezuela to heed the calls of the international community to: (1) hold free, fair, and open elections; (2) release all political prisoners, including U.S. citizens; and (3) immediately accept international humanitarian assistance only through nongovernmental organizations. Calls for Organization of American States (OAS) member states to continue all efforts, including the consideration of a potential suspension of Venezuela from the OAS, if such government fails to take such actions. Encourages the President of the United States to prioritize a resolution of the political, economic, social, and humanitarian crisis in Venezuela, including through bilateral, targeted sanctions against individuals in the Venezuelan government responsible for the deterioration of democratic institutions and the rule of law.

The bill mainly relates to these subjects; Human rights, Latin America, Venezuela, Detention of persons, Diplomacy, foreign officials, Americans abroad, Rule of law and government transparency, Foreign aid and international relief, Elections, voting, political campaign regulation, International organizations and cooperation, Sovereignty, recognition, national governance and status, Sanctions, Protest and dissent and International Affairs.


  • (R) Rep. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen from FL
  • (R) Rep. Michael McCaul from TX
  • (R) Rep. Carlos Curbelo from FL
  • (R) Rep. Ted Yoho from FL
  • (R) Rep. Randy Weber from TX
  • (R) Rep. Gus Bilirakis from FL
  • (D) Rep. Albio Sires from NJ
  • (R) Rep. Christopher H. Smith from NJ
  • (R) Rep. Francis Rooney from FL
  • (D) Rep. Norma Torres from CA
  • (R) Rep. Mario Diaz-Balart from FL
  • (R) Rep. Daniel M. Donovan from NY
  • (D) Rep. Robin Kelly from IL
  • (D) Rep. Seth Moulton from MA
  • (R) Rep. Paul Cook from CA
  • (D) Rep. Jamie Raskin from MD
  • (R) Rep. Jason Chaffetz from UT
  • (R) Rep. Chris Stewart from UT
  • (R) Rep. Austin Scott from GA
  • (R) Rep. Jeffrey Duncan from SC
  • (R) Rep. Thomas Garrett from VA
  • (R) Rep. Doug LaMalfa from CA
  • (R) Rep. French Hill from AR
  • (D) Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee from TX
  • (R) Rep. Mia Love from UT
  • (R) Rep. Mark Walker from NC
  • (R) Rep. Mike Gallagher from WI
  • (R) Rep. Alex Mooney from WV
  • (D) Rep. Adriano Espaillat from NY
  • (D) Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz from FL
  • (R) Res. Comm. Jenniffer González-Colón from PR
  • (D) Rep. André Carson from IN
  • (R) Rep. Jeff Fortenberry from NE
  • (R) Rep. John Shimkus from IL
  • (R) Rep. David Valadao from CA
  • (R) Rep. Rodney Davis from IL
  • (R) Rep. Lee Zeldin from NY
  • (D) Rep. Bill Keating from MA
  • (R) Rep. Larry Bucshon from IN
  • (R) Rep. Joe Wilson from SC