The Bill “Veterans Opioid Abuse Prevention Act” Has Been Passed

Bill Passed: To direct the Secretary of Veterans Affairs to enter into a memorandum of understanding with the executive director of a national network of State-based prescription monitoring programs under which Department of Veterans Affairs health care providers shall query such network, and for other purposes.

The bill passed the House on May 21, 2018. The sponsor was (R) Representative Neal Dunn from FL.

Summary: Veterans Opioid Abuse Prevention Act This bill directs the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) to enter into a memorandum of understanding with a national network of state-based prescription drug monitoring programs under which VA health care providers shall query such network to support the safe and effective prescribing of controlled substances to patients who: (1) receive a prescription for a controlled substance for a period of 90 days or longer, and (2) are not receiving palliative care or enrolled in hospice care. Under such memorandum of understanding, VA health care providers practicing in: (1) a participating state shall query such network in accordance with the agreement between that state’s prescription drug monitoring program and such network, and (2) a nonparticipating state shall query the network through the drug monitoring program of the closest participating state.

The bill mainly relates to these subjects; Veterans’ medical care, Drug trafficking and controlled substances, Health information and medical records, Drug, alcohol, tobacco use, Prescription drugs and Armed Forces and National Security.

Bill Cosponsors

  • (R) Rep. Claudia Tenney from NY
  • (R) Rep. Bruce Poliquin from ME
  • (R) Rep. Jodey Arrington from TX
  • (D) Rep. Paul Tonko from NY
  • (R) Rep. John Rutherford from FL
  • (R) Rep. Mike Bost from IL
  • (R) Rep. Steve Knight from CA
  • (R) Rep. David McKinley from WV
  • (R) Rep. Randy Hultgren from IL
  • (R) Rep. Bob Gibbs from OH
  • (R) Rep. Walter B. Jones from NC
  • (R) Rep. Jason Lewis from MN
  • (R) Rep. Austin Scott from GA
  • (R) Rep. Greg Walden from OR
  • (R) Rep. John Faso from NY
  • (R) Rep. Mia Love from UT
  • (R) Rep. Bradley Byrne from AL
  • (R) Rep. Richard Hudson from NC
  • (R) Rep. Robert E. Latta from OH
  • (R) Rep. Rick Allen from GA
  • (R) Rep. Mike Coffman from CO
  • (R) Rep. Larry Bucshon from IN
  • (R) Rep. Jack Bergman from MI
  • (R) Rep. David Valadao from CA
  • (R) Rep. Ted Yoho from FL
  • (R) Rep. Ann Wagner from MO
  • (R) Rep. Karen Handel from GA
  • (R) Rep. A. Drew Ferguson from GA
  • (D) Rep. Ann McLane Kuster from NH
  • (R) Rep. Greg Gianforte from MT
  • (R) Rep. Clay Higgins from LA
  • (D) Rep. Derek Kilmer from WA
  • (R) Rep. Roger Marshall from KS
  • (D) Rep. Denny Heck from WA
  • (D) Rep. Darren Soto from FL
  • (R) Rep. Vicky Hartzler from MO
  • (D) Rep. Conor Lamb from PA
  • (R) Rep. Pete Olson from TX
  • (R) Rep. David Rouzer from NC
  • (D) Rep. Kyrsten Sinema from AZ