The Bill “Government Employee Fair Treatment Act of 2019” Has Passed Senate

Bill Passed: A bill to provide for the compensation of Federal and other government employees affected by lapses in appropriations.

This bill passed the Senate Jan 10, 2019 the House on Jan 11, 2019. It was originally sponsored by (D) Senator Benjamin L. Cardin from MD.

Summary: Government Employee Fair Treatment Act of 2019 This bill requires employees of the federal government or a District of Columbia public employer who are furloughed or required to work during a lapse in appropriations beginning on or after December 22, 2018, to be compensated for the period of the lapse. The employees must be compensated on the earliest date possible after the lapse ends, regardless of scheduled pay dates. Employees required to work during the lapse in appropriations may use leave.
This bill mainly relates to these subjects; Appropriations, District of Columbia, Government employee pay, benefits, personnel management, Executive agency funding and structure, Employee leave and Government Operations and Politics.


  • (R) Sen. Susan Collins from ME
  • (D) Sen. Dianne Feinstein from CA
  • (D) Sen. Tammy Baldwin from WI
  • (D) Sen. Tim Kaine from VA
  • (D) Sen. Jack Reed from RI
  • (D) Sen. Mazie K. Hirono from HI
  • (D) Sen. Edward J. Markey from MA
  • (D) Sen. Doug Jones from AL
  • (D) Sen. Richard J. Durbin from IL
  • (D) Sen. Patrick J. Leahy from VT
  • (D) Sen. Chris Van Hollen from MD
  • (D) Sen. Christopher A. Coons from DE
  • (D) Sen. Tina Smith from MN
  • (D) Sen. Thomas R. Carper from DE
  • (D) Sen. Ron Wyden from OR
  • (D) Sen. Jeanne Shaheen from NH
  • (D) Sen. Margaret Hassan from NH
  • (D) Sen. Elizabeth Warren from MA
  • (D) Sen. Maria Cantwell from WA
  • (D) Sen. Amy Klobuchar from MN
  • (D) Sen. Tammy Duckworth from IL
  • (D) Sen. Michael Bennet from CO
  • (D) Sen. Joe Manchin III from WV
  • (D) Sen. Mark Warner from VA
  • (D) Sen. Catherine Cortez Masto from NV
  • (D) Sen. Richard Blumenthal from CT
  • (D) Sen. Martin Heinrich from NM
  • (D) Sen. Kirsten E. Gillibrand from NY
  • (D) Sen. Kamala Harris from CA
  • (D) Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse from RI
  • (R) Sen. Lisa Murkowski from AK
  • (D) Sen. Debbie Stabenow from MI
  • (D) Sen. Tom Udall from NM
  • (D) Sen. Brian Schatz from HI
  • (D) Sen. Patty Murray from WA
  • (D) Sen. Robert Menendez from NJ
  • (D) Sen. Bob Casey from PA
  • (D) Sen. Sherrod Brown from OH
  • (ID) Sen. Bernard Sanders from VT
  • (ID) Sen. Angus King from ME
  • (D) Sen. Cory Booker from NJ
  • (D) Sen. Jon Tester from MT
  • (D) Sen. Christopher S. Murphy from CT
  • (D) Sen. Jacky Rosen from NV